Research School for Socio-Economic and
Natural Sciences of the Environment
Research School for Socio-Economic and
Natural Sciences of the Environment

The SENSE PhD Council

The SENSE PhD Council (SPC) represents all PhD students involved in the Research School SENSE. The main aims of the council are to provide students with all the information relevant to their work at their University and to strongly work together on solving problems regarding education, supervision and planning that students might face during their research project. > More information

The SPC consists of a group of motivated and cooperative PhD candidates from different partners within SENSE.

If you want to know more about the current members, or if you are interested to join the SPC, please let us know by sending an email to

If you have any suggestions, are facing problems or have complaints regarding your PhD project, feel free to contact us!

SPC Members Gallery

The current members of the SPC are:

Dona Barirani
Utrecht University (UU)

Yasmina Loozen
Utrecht University (UU)

Claudia de Lima e Silva
VU University A'dam (VU)

 Lars de Ruig
VU University of Amsterdam (VU)

Isadora Rebelo Salviano
VU University of Amsterdam (VU)

Efthymia Pavlidou
University of Twente (TU)

Vitali Diaz Mercado
IHE Delft (IHE)


Maria Luisa Salingay
IHE Delft (IHE)

Martijn Diender
Wageningen University (WU)



Former members of the SPC are:

Ingeborg Kluts
Utrecht University (UU)/ Wageningen UR (WUR)

Abebe Chukalla
University of Twente (WEM)

Arda Isildar

Paula dos Reis Oliveira
University of Amsterdam (UvA)

Hao Wang

Louise van Mourik
VU University Amsterdam (IES)

Liana Bastos Sales
VU University Amsterdam (IVM) 

Thea Turkington
University of Twente (ITC)

Majelle Verbaak
VU University Amsterdam (VU)